Minding Your Ps and Qs

We live in such a crazy hurried world that sometimes it is easy to forget social clues that use to help us to understand one another.  Does anyone remember the day when if you where at a restaurant and closed the menu or placed them to the side that it was a signal to the wait staff that you were ready to order?  Or when you were finished with your meal you placed your silver wear upside down on the plate along side of your napkin?  I wonder if wait staff is even trained to notice these clues any more or are they a lost form of communication.  However, I still find good manners helpful and believe that they get me a little further.  for instance, I still try to notice the name badge of the wait staff so that I can greet them by using their name rather than calling, “Miss, Miss or Sir” .  When I am asked for my order I usually say something like, “Yes, I have a special request because of a “food allergy”.  I often wonder if there are some ways that are better than others when placing a gluten free food order.  Has anyone one had a horror story or had a situation which was particularly successful?  If so please let me know.  

About Gluten-Free Social Savvy

Living and exploring a Gluten Free community while developing a handy resource guide to make dining out a little easier for all of us.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

