Gluten Free Indian Dal (Stew)

IMG_1070

I felt as lost as a puppy looking for a bone.  I needed to find a vegan cookbook but not just any cookbook.  I needed to cook gluten free, dairy free, Soy free and vegan.  I came across, “The Happy Herbivore”.  I was willing to purchase almost anything up until that point knowing that as far as carnivores go I am a meet lover at heart.  Flipping through Nixon’s book I found several mouth watering recipes that got me interested.  One in particular recipe caught my eye.  I had never herd of an Indian Dal but I loved the idea of a rich spicy stew served over a bed of fluffy white rice.  I have made this recipe several times.  The first time I made it  I actually used chickpeas (using a hand blender to cut through some of them) but either way it is great and I never missed the meat.  I am always careful to make plenty and use them as dips or to fill Puppodums (a type of Indian cracker).  Today, I switched it up a little.  My in laws lived in a part of Africa where curry was eaten by British Officers.  The British Officers when eating the extra hot- extra spicy curry would cool it down buy sprinkling bits of diced fruit, vegetables and nuts on the curry.  Today, I topped my gluten free Indian Dal with dry roasted peanuts, raisins and diced onion.  On other occasions I have used diced cucumber, shredded coconut, tomatoes and even cantaloupe. There are no limits to what can try so why not try this recipe and try your favorites.  What suggestions do you have for toppings? 

Red Lentil Dal adapted

1-2 T. Olive Oil for sautéing

1 small onion, diced

2 garlic cloves minced

1tsp each turmeric, ground cumin, paprika

1 T. each ground ginger, ground coriander

1/2 c. dried red lentils

2 c. vegetable broth

1 chopped tomato and 1/4 tomato sauce

2 tsp. garam masala (when I have it)

salt, pepper and cayenne to taste

fruits, vegetables and nuts to garnish

What I did

Add oil to a soup pot and heat adding onions and sauté until translucent abut 5 minuets.

Add all spices except garam masala and heat 1-2 minuets add water to prevent burning if needed.

Add all remaining ingredients stirring and bring to a boil.  Reduce heat and simmer until lentils are tender about 15-20 minuets. 

Add garam masala and salt, pepper and cayenne to taste 

Serve over rice and garnish

 

 

 

 

 

About Gluten-Free Social Savvy

Living and exploring a Gluten Free community while developing a handy resource guide to make dining out a little easier for all of us.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

