The Allergen Labeling Consumer Protection Act of 2004 requires labeling all food products that contain wheat. Unfortunately this is not the case for over the counter products and prescriptions [21 U.S.C. § 321(qq) (2012)] Gluten can be used in various types of medication as a filler or in inactive ingredients. Wheat therefore may be simply listed as “starch” . Although starch may be derived from any number for sources it could just as easily be derived from wheat. In addition, wheat may be disguised as wheat, modified starch, pregelatinized starch, dextrates, dextrimaltose, caramel coloring, or dextrin.
Therefore at your sickest you may be left to wonder am I sick because I am sick or am I sick because of gluten poisoning. How is one to know the source of diarrhea, abdominal pain, depression, joint pain, skin rashes, bloating and a host of other symptoms? Not to mention that these same sets of symptoms can be contributed to side affects of medication which may or may not be gluten free.
The surest way to know if your medications are gluten free each and every time you fill an order is to call the manufacturer or your pharmacist. Having a good pharmacist is your best option. You may even want to consider a compounding pharmacist who takes a hands on approach. But here is a link you may want to remember www.glutenfreedrugs.com. For more information about glutens in medications please follow this linkhttp://www.huffingtonpost.com/whitney-caudill/gluten-free-medications_b_2951961.html?utm_hp_ref=health-news . Have you ever had a bad reaction to gluten in medications? If so, what meds did you take?