Amish Produce Auction- Matters and Tatters Oh My

1350846374387

Going to my favorite Amish Produce Auctions is just one of the perks to living in the woods.  I look forward to the opening of the auction every year never knowing what I might come home with.  Driving along windy country roads hearing laundry as it whips in the wind is just another treat.  Not to mention, the grass hasn’t turned green yet and farmers haven’t had a chance to plant fields of tall corn and hay for feeding cattle.  At the auction the auctioneer calls out bids in an audible blur.  If I don’t pay attention I could come home with something I didn’t mean to.  Today it seems as if the prices of everything is going up but a produce auction in your area might be worth looking into.  Take a friend and make a date of it.  More often then not people who are selling things at my local farmers market have actually purchased their goods from a produce auction.  If you frequent farmers markets ask vendors if they know where the nearest produce auction is. Last year 100 count boxes of cabbage or pumpkins which went for twenty-five cents a head.  I also bought a box of goose neck gourds for one dollar each. When I am patient I can get a peck of red bell peppers of three dollars which is perfect for me because I freeze them and use them all year long.  Have you ever thought of going to a produce auction? 

About Gluten-Free Social Savvy

Living and exploring a Gluten Free community while developing a handy resource guide to make dining out a little easier for all of us.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

