Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal Bars

IMG_1437

Well?  These apple cinnamon oatmeal bars are definitely moist and they are for certain a switch from the mushy bowl of gruel I normal have every day for breakfast.  Even so I could use a few ideas from you.   All in all they were not so bad for my first attempt at trying an original recipe.  That is where you might come in before I give it another try.  I would love to hear suggestions from you about how I can improve the recipe before trying again. What is important to keep in mind is for the next few months I am on a restricted diet and thought this would give me an opportunity to try something new.   Living with out sugar, salt and nuts certainly has its challenges but that won’t keep us from perfecting these bars. They are quick and easy to make and something to take along with us when we are headed out the door.  Not to mention it is great to come down stairs in the morning and have breakfast waiting for me.

 Here is How I Did It:

3 C. Cooked Oatmeal

½ C. Chopped Raisins

1 t. Cinnamon

1 T. Xylitol

1 Apple peeled and shredded

 Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Grease a 9”x9” glass dish.

In a medium bowl combine all ingredients except cooked oatmeal and stir until blended.

Add cooked oatmeal and stir until blended thoroughly.

Pour into 9”x9” baking dish.

Use a spatula to smooth until even.

 

Bake for 1 hour.  Then turn off heat leaving pan in the oven until it is cool.

Refrigerate over night and slice in the morning. 

Some of my thoughts were to add 1 cup uncooked oatmeal.  Or to try cranberries instead of raisins.

About Gluten-Free Social Savvy

Living and exploring a Gluten Free community while developing a handy resource guide to make dining out a little easier for all of us.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal Bars

  1. Meg says:

    What about adding blueberries and or peaches and a little bit of vanilla???

    • I think that would be a great idea especially blueberries since I can buy those dried. And I didn’t think about vanilla. Sounds Great! Thanks for the ideas. Don’t forget about the drawing this Friday for the $25.00 gift card. And thanks again for your suggestions. They were fabulous!

Leave a Reply

