Is Your Famer’s Market Organic?

1350846374387Do you prefer organic fruits and vegetables? Do you shop at a farmer’s markets for those reasons thinking that you are also getting the best prices? I’m not sure why they are called farmer’s markets. Depending on the vender they may or may not actually be the one to grow the produce that they sell. Worse still you and I may think we are buying organic and non GMO when in fact the vender may have purchased his ware from a produce auction and may not even know whether what they are selling is organic or not. If you are like me, I prefer organic and I’d like to pay as little as possible for whatever I purchase. Quite buy accident I discovered an Amish Produce auction about a half hour from my home. I have gotten to know a few of the venders and have become familiar with a few of them to know which ones are organic and which ones are not. Believe it or not one of the things I like to see when I purchase produce at the auction is a little dirt. Yesterday, I felt pretty pleased with myself. I bought giant, white, candy onions for fifty cents each, and large peach colored, juicy cantaloupe for a dollar-fifty. My real deal was plum silver queen corn on the cob for two dollars a dozen and a quart of stingless green beans for a dollar-twenty five. So next time you find yourself wandering around a farmers market get to know the venders and ask them a few questions. Maybe even ask them where they purchase the produce they sell. Maybe you will find yourself at a produce auction. So? where do you get most of your produce from? Just wondering.

About Gluten-Free Social Savvy

Living and exploring a Gluten Free community while developing a handy resource guide to make dining out a little easier for all of us.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Is Your Famer’s Market Organic?

  1. emilycosentino2013 says:

    hi Diana! gre

Leave a Reply

